Mac 25 Restoration

A forum for discussing topics relating to older MacGregor/Venture sailboats.
Sisu
Chief Steward
Sailboat: MacGregor 25

Mac 25 Restoration

Post by Sisu »

I figured I'd start a thread for the many questions we'll have as our restoration project starts to come together.

First, here's a summary of the story so far:

Back in November, my girlfriend and I went out for a car ride. Driving down a country road we saw a boat by the side of the road with a big "800" stuck to it in blue painter's tape. We turned around. The next day I forked over the cash. I'm no stranger to sailing - I've been coaching racers for almost 10 years and sail scows competitively. I did happen to be looking for a boat but was mainly in the market for a dinghy like a laser or C Scow to race. Nonetheless this looked like a good winter project. The main issues stemmed from a grounding in a storm, which resulted in damage to the keel trunk and a snapped mast. The keel trunk damage was fixed by the prior owner, who also jury-rigged a Catalina mast onto the stub of the broken MacGregor section. A little sketchy but looks like it will work.

We stored it at a friend's house for a few days to replace the wheels and lights on the trailer, then brought it home and pressure washed it

Vacuumed out the interior too

Last edited by Sisu on Fri Feb 05, 2016 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sisu
Chief Steward

Re: Mac 25 Restoration

Post by Sisu »

Ripped out the godawful electrical system - we'll be rewiring that (minus the questionable shore power rig)

Next we took out all bulkheads and beams and ripped out the headliner

Sisu
Chief Steward

Post by Sisu »

We decided on a good exterior primer covered with a gloss enamel for the ceiling

Next we stripped and re-stained and varnished the trim strips

Then we cut new bulkheads out of Lauan plywood and painted them to match the ceiling

Sisu
Chief Steward

Post by Sisu »