Heavy helm on 2001 26x.

A forum for discussion of how to rig and tune your boat or kicker to achieve the best sailing performance.
Kaylee

Heavy helm on 2001 26x.

Post by Kaylee »

Need Help!!! I am brand new to MacGregor sailing. Recently bought a 2001 26x that is equipped with an autopilot. We sailed her twice before having to store for the winter. A fact of life in Alberta Canada. The pressure required to turn the wheel is unreal. The best way to describe it is it is like trying to turn a car with the power steering belt off!! The Macgregor dealer looked at it and said it is not right but does not know what the problem is. As we live on the Canadian prairies he has no experience with the auto pilot. Does anyone know if this is the way an autohelm interferes with regular steering, if for example it is not getting power or if it is not functioning correctly. I have all the switches on but have not checked to see if it is getting power. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Unfortunately the previous owner knows less than me and I know nothing. PS LOve the boat and can't wait for spring to join your fraternity!! Thanking you in advance.
Duane Dunn, Allegro
Admiral
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X
Location: Bellevue, Wa '96 26x, Tohatsu 90 TLDI and Plug In Hybrid Electric drive

Post by Duane Dunn, Allegro »

What kind and model of autopilot is it?

If it is a Raymarine SportPilot these do add a bit of resistance but my helm still only requires one finger to turn it with the SportPilot in place. If it is a Raymarine ST4000, with the clutch released it should be smooth and easy to turn. With the clutch engaged but the pilot off it will be almost locked in place.