Putting the line on the centre board in a 26X

A forum for discussion of how to rig and tune your boat or kicker to achieve the best sailing performance.

Moderators: kmclemore, NiceAft, Hamin' X, Catigale, beene

Davey
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X

Putting the line on the centre board in a 26X

Post by Davey » Thu Jul 07, 2016 1:20 pm

I am a brand new owner of a used 26X. I am a relatively novice sailor especially with a boat this big. When I bought the boat the line was not attached to the centre board to raise and lower it. I cannot get a clear sense from the manual of how to attach it. It is on the trailer. Can I rig it on dry land with it on the trailer. How do I accomplish such a task. Where does the cable go when it comes out of the top of the tube by the mast?? Help please and make your instruction suitable for a novice. Looking forward to living a dream in retirement and getting on the water.

Davey

sailboatmike
Admiral

Re: Putting the line on the centre board in a 26X

Post by sailboatmike » Thu Jul 07, 2016 10:56 pm

Download the user manual from the resources section of the forum, it will show you how it all works

March
Captain

Post by March » Fri Jul 08, 2016 7:02 am

With the boat on the trailer, remove the centerboard's bolt from the inside--access it by removing the front seat cover, starboard side. Tap the shaft gently with a wooden mallet (Keep the nut in place, half-screwed, so that you won't flatten the grooves). The shaft is connected to a fork-like support that carries the board. Slide the board out from under the trailer. You will see the place where it attaches to the board's line. It's probably broken there

Insert a line through the hole behind the mast. Attach it to the board and reverse the procedure for re-mounting it. No big deal.