Trouble on tacking

A forum for discussion of how to rig and tune your boat or kicker to achieve the best sailing performance.

Moderators: kmclemore, NiceAft, Hamin' X, Catigale, beene

Alaskapest1
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M

Trouble on tacking

Post by Alaskapest1 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 2:47 pm

I have a 26 m 2004, this is the second year on this 26. A friend thought the jib maybe over powering the rudders. A tack will take us almost a 360 or at least to a wind at our back. I have replaced the bearing on the rotating mast and adjusted the stanchions to equal tension. Rake is froward is about 6 inch forward. I'm a true newbie!!

This can happen in high winds or low. It is a little better when we use half jib but it doesn't solve the problem.

Do you have any thoughts on what to try next ?

It can be a little nerve racking when I'm trying to turn in to the weather.

Thanks

NiceAft
Admiral
Location: Upper Dublin,PA, USA: 2005M 50hp.Honda4strk.,1979 Phantom Sport Sailboat, 9'Achilles 6HP Merc 4strk

Re: Trouble on tacking

Post by NiceAft » Mon Jun 29, 2020 4:27 pm

First, as you are coming about, let the jib fill and billow out before you pull the leeward jib sheet, and be certain the now windward sheet is loose.
Second, As the jib is coming across, start rapidly correcting to windward. It just takes timing, and a feel for the boat.

And pay attention to the telltails.
Ray ~~_/)~~

Dougiestyle
Chief Steward
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X

Post by Dougiestyle » Mon Jun 29, 2020 5:04 pm

I own a :macx: and the manual recommends the mast rake be set at 94 degrees on the :macx: , not sure what the :macm: . This has a lot to do with the balance and control of the boat. Im new on the :macx: and someone will chime in on this with more experience.
Dougiestyle
1998 26X , Nissan 50D, "Water Buffalo"

Jimmyt
Admiral

Post by Jimmyt » Mon Jun 29, 2020 5:04 pm