Slack in Helm Linkage 26m is this normal?

A forum for discussing boat or trailer repairs or modifications that you have made or are considering.
The Tempest
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M

Slack in Helm Linkage 26m is this normal?

Post by The Tempest »

Enormous slack in steering on 26M. Is it normal to have to move the helm 90 degrees, back and forth to steer while underway?

The motor is synced and linked tightly to the helm, and mimics immediate helm movements. This issue is that the boat does not respond without exaggerated engine/prop swings. This is problematic when navigating tightly into slips and through marinas. Add a little wind and its a real nail-biting nightmare. But even without the tight navigation, on relative calm waters I just want to know if it is normal to move the helm, motor and prop so far back and forth to maintain course.

I'm self-taught, but I have repeatedly read and reread the process for motoring into slips and it's just not getting better. I've tried with the rudders and keel up and with them down, heavy and light load and myriad combinations. With and without wind. I usually have a mate on the bow with a long pole as a precaution. I have nearly hit other boats on numerous occasions.

By now you are probably laughing at me or at least rolling your eyes. So after you pick yourself up off the floor, just know I am a pretty handy and adventurous type; I have great spatial acuity, can tear apart and repair engines, telescopes, computers and trailer bearings and run a pretty mean 10K for a 59 year old. I fly drones and don't get in car accidents, but this lovely 26M is making me crazy.

So, is it me, is it the load in the boat, what...

26M with Nissan 2 Stroke 50HP outboard

Jimmyt
Admiral

Re: Slack in Helm Linkage 26m is this normal?

Post by Jimmyt »

The Tempest wrote: Mon Apr 12, 2021 12:10 pm Enormous slack in steering on 26M. Is it normal to have to move the helm 90 degrees, back and forth to steer while underway?