New to Forum, new to Mac 25 doing restoration

A forum for discussing topics relating to older MacGregor/Venture sailboats.

Moderators: kmclemore, beene, NiceAft, Catigale, Hamin' X

rushguy44
Just Enlisted
Sailboat: MacGregor 25

New to Forum, new to Mac 25 doing restoration

Post by rushguy44 » Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:03 pm

Hi all, I already posted one question, but figured I should create a thread for what I'm sure will be lots of questions, and to post progress pics of our new sailboat. I believe she's a 1985(maybe 84) Macgregor 25. (i still don't know if that makes her a 'venture' or not?) and I bought her on a trailer with a 9hp Merc outboard for $2600.

About us: I'm a disabled vet, my wife has put up with countless deployments and injuries and surgeries etc, and our plan is to become liveaboards when the kids graduate from high school (2025). In the meantime, we really need to brush up on our sailing skills, and since we have ZERO knowledge of anything mechanical, electrical (I'm scared to death of frying myself via electricity btw), plumbing, rigging, etc....we (I) decided that there's no better way to learn than by doing.... so we bought our little Mac.

I saw a great thread by Sisu on his/her restoration, but since it was posted in 2016, all the pics are gone.... I've sent Sisu a DM to see if I can get some pics/advice since I'm following in their footsteps.

Now on to our boat: She'd been sitting in a field for several years, unsailed. She was dirty, her upholstery is dated, the wiring consists of those heavy orange, construction project extension cords and all bundled up in a mess behind the winch that raises and lowers the keel, there is HEAVY oxidation on the exterior hull from sitting unprotected/unwaxed in the sun for years, and the bottom has seen better days for sure.