Is Denia (Alicante) to Ibiza possible?

An area for discussion of sailing-related topics of particular interest to Europeans

Moderators: kmclemore, beene, NiceAft, Catigale, Hamin' X

Killter
Just Enlisted

Is Denia (Alicante) to Ibiza possible?

Post by Killter » Fri Sep 03, 2021 1:51 am

Hi guys.

I'm new here.

It seems my whole life I have wanted to sail, and for the last few years I have been looking at Macgregor boats. I'm finally in a position where I will be able to purchase a second hand one very soon, I hope! I'm 42 and my desire to be on the sea is reaching fever pitch.

Although I am Irish, I live in Alicante. My plan is to learn to sail at the weekends locally off the coast of Alicante and build up as much experience as possible. I have no experience of actual sailing although I have been on many boats and I am an experienced diver and I'm so scared (about learning how to sail, the sea etc and also being on the cusp of realising a life long dream is also daunting!), but I have to , and will, do it.

I have tonnes of questions and doubts, but my main one at the moment is - after a lot of experience locally, is it possible for a Mac to sail from mainland Spain - Denia, to Ibiza in August (I know every August is different, especially on the Med, but I want to clarify that I don't plan to sail in Winter or outside the summer months-not for many years anyway). I have read scathing reviews of the Macs like everyone else here and I know that an Ocean crossing is not for a Mac, but for summer Med sailing, is it suitable? I am keeping in mind that they are designed more for coastal sailing and the Med is considered blue water, and can be quiet rough and changeable in any month. I have travelled the Med a lot and lived here for a good few years.