JIB OR GENOA?

A forum for discussing topics relating to MacGregor Powersailor Sailboats

Moderators: kmclemore, beene, NiceAft, Catigale, Hamin' X

BlueSky Sailor
Just Enlisted
Sailboat: MacGregor 26M

JIB OR GENOA?

Post by BlueSky Sailor » Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:03 am

As the season ended I was noticing my Sunbrella covering on the Genoa starting to come apart at the stitches. Was weighing the value in getting it repaired or just flat out replaced?
My guess is the sail is original when the boat was new in 2005. Probably end of life anyways. I'm not experienced enough to know the actual condition of the sail.
I've read comments about pointing and how some sails are better than others. My experience so far leads me to believe with this current sail that sailing into the wind at anything closer than about 50-60 degrees isn't going to happen.
So my question is this. Does the boat point better with a Jib using the cabin top tracks? I'm currently using the cockpit tracks and going back foward to the winches.
I'm sailing on a narrow lake that doesn't give the best wind conditions. It's not steady like you might get on open ocean or big lakes. Gusting and coming from different directions. Nothing stays the same for very long.
Would I be better off with another new Genoa or a smaller Jib? So far I swing back and forth between too much sail and reefing the genoa because of gusty winds causing the boat to heal quickly and unpredictably.
I know if I'm going to have lots more fun its going to require I sail on a larger and more open lake.

Larry

rsvpasap
Chief Steward
Sailboat: MacGregor 26X

Re: JIB OR GENOA?

Post by rsvpasap » Thu Oct 29, 2020 10:19 am

I'm in Puget Sound. I have a jib and a genoa. With the jib and the cabin top cars all the way forward, I can close in to about 30 degrees off the wind. It requires attentive sailing, autopilot not recommended when cutting that close.

Herschel
Admiral

Post by Herschel » Fri Oct 30, 2020 8:18 pm